Home Page The Club Computers News Links Glossary EYAWTK
Before Amiga Background ICS OCS ECS AGA ??? PPC
U-Boot SLB Linux Amiga OS Dual Boot Motherboards Peripherals Other
Initialisation Installation OS4 Updates About OS4 File Systems Networking Printing Other
Introduction File System Workbench Preferences Commands Error Msgs Miscellaneous

AmigaOS 4.0 - About OS4 - Preferences

PALETTE Preferences Editor
The Palette Preferences editor enables you to specify the color palette to be used on your system. When Palette is invoked it will display the following window:

Across the top of the window is a row of buttons, followed by two information boxes showing the Screen color and Palette color currently selected and a gadget to change the state of each palette entry that follows. Below this the palette consists of a matrix of 256 entries. Colored boxes represent configured entires, while dithered grey boxes represent free entries, which any application can use. The large box on the right shows the color of the currently selected palette entry, or if it has not been alocated it will show 'Free entry'. Beneath the matrix, are three sliders labelled Red, Green amd Blue that can be used to specify the color for the selected entry.

About The Matrix
Before we look at how to set the palette, you need to understand a few rules:

  1. The first four colors (0-3) are used by the Workbench for default background, text, etc and care must be taken when changing these colors.
  2. The next twelve colours (4-15) are used by MUI and changing these will affect many of the requesters display by the Workbench.
  3. The last four colours (252-255) are also used by the Workbench, and care must be taken when changing these colors.
  4. The remaining colours are available for general use, but they will already have a color assigned to them when you lock them or double click on them, which has the same effect.
You can partially check which colors are used for what by inspecting the User interface pens in GUI Preferences.

The following example shows the kind impact that changing the Workbench colors can cause. Note that all of the free palette entries have also been locked to show their default values:

The Palette Buttons
Copy enables you to copy the color of the currently selected palette entry to the palette entry you click on next. However, this will only work if the entry you click on is NOT free. You must use the Free/Locked gadget to Lock the entry prior to using this button.

Swap enables you to swap the color of the currently selected palette entry with that of the palette entry you click on next. However, this will only work if the next entry you click on is NOT free. You must use the Free/Locked gadget to Lock the entry prior to using this button.

Spread enables you to make a gradient of colors starting with the color of the selected palette entry and ending with the color of the palette entry you click on next. In this instance it does not matter whether the included palette entries are free or locked. They will be automatically locked when the Spread button is pressed.

Undo undoes the last change made. This means that if you click on it again the changes just undone will be redone.

Restore will return the entire palette to the state it was when the Palette Preferences editor was invoked.

Free/Locked gadget changes the current palette entry from one mode to the other. Locked entries can have a specific color assigned to them, while Free entries can be assigned at any time by application programs. The Workbench palette entries (0-3) and (252-255) cannot be changed - they are permanently locked. Double clicking on any palette entry will have the same effect as this gadget.

Color Allocation Map
Pressing the 'Ctrl' key changes the matrix to show the current screen's color allocation map (which doesn't need to match the one you are editing), but I fail to understand the resulting display:

If anyone knows how to interpret the result please let me know.

Action Buttons
When you make changes you can choose to 'Save' them permanently, just 'Use' them temporarily until the system is rebooted, or you can 'Cancel' and lose all changes.


Return to Preferences Selection

Disclaimer: Amiga Auckland have prepared the above information for the use of its members based on our experiences and as such is subject to revision at any time. Amiga Auckland cannot guarantee any of the information and cannot be held accountable for any issues that may result from using it.


Copyright 2006 Amiga Auckland Inc. All rights reserved.
Revised: February 9, 2006.